The Ninth National Chopin Piano Competition

2015

February 20 - March 1, 2015 Miami-Dade County Auditorium, 2901 West Flagler Street, Miami



First Prize Eric Lu



Fourth Prize Eric Zuber





Second Prize Rachel Naomi Kudo



Fifth Prize Joshua Wright

 \sim

Founder Lady Blanka A. Rosenstiel

Competition Director

Jadwiga Gewert Executive Director, Chopin Foundation of the United States



Third Prize George Li



Sixth Prize Alexander Beyer

The Ninth National Chopin Piano Competition 2015





Maestro Grzegorz Nowak

Competition Jury



Agustin Anievas, Chair Sergei Babayan





Ian Hobson



Krzysztof Jablonski



Kevin Kenner



Dean Kramer





Katarzyna Popowa- Margarita Shevchenko Źydron

Selection Jury



Adam Aleksander



Ning An



Joel Harrison



Lucy Scarbrough



Tian Ying

The Ninth National Chopin Piano Competition 2015

Contestants



Alexander Agate



Hana Chu



Fantee Jones



Henry Kramer



Sun-A Park



Shijun Wang



Nadia Azzi



George Fu



Philip Jung



Rachel Naomi Kudo



Chris Rice



Maria Wietrzynska



Alexander Beyer



Anna Han



Sungpil Kim



George Li



Rieko Tsuchida



Joshua Wright



Konrad Binienda



Alice Gi-Young Hwang



Hugo Kitano



Eric Lu



Chelsea Wang



Eric Zuber

The Ninth National Chopin Piano Competition 2015

Prizes

<u>First Prize \$75,000</u> Underwritten by the Rosenstiel Foundation, presented by Lady Blanka A. Rosenstiel

Plus automatic acceptance to the XVII International Chopin Piano Competition, and concert performances in the United States and abroad

Second Prize \$35,000

Underwritten by the Board of Directors of the Chopin Foundation, with major support from Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Sonnabend, and with additional support from Mr. and Mrs. Manuel Baez

Plus automatic acceptance to the XVII International Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw

<u>Third Prize \$20,000</u> Underwritten by the Joseph & Ligia Wiegand Family Foundation in Memory of Joseph Wiegand

> <u>Fourth Prize \$10,000</u> Underwritten by Mr. & Mrs. David Melin

<u>Fifth Prize \$5,000</u> Underwritten by the Ann E. Leibowitz Fund and Dr. Joyce Siegal

<u>Sixth Prize \$4,000</u> Underwritten by the American Council for Polish Culture

<u>Special prizes</u>

Best Mazurka \$1,000 - Underwritten by Maestro William Noll Best Polonaise \$1,000 - Underwritten by Mr. & Mrs. Manuel Baez Best Sonata \$1,000 - Underwritten by Mr. George Berberian Best Concerto \$1,000 – Underwritten by Ms. Rosa Rita Gonzalez

Semi-finalists not advanced to the finals \$1,000 each Underwritten by the Sasha Gorodnitzki Foundation, presented by Mrs. Miyoko Lotto Third through sixth place finalists also receive an all-expense-paid trip to Warsaw, Poland to attend the Preliminary Round of the XVII International Chopin Piano Competition in April 2015, underwritten by Mr. and Mrs. Marvin Leibowitz.